top of page

Springtime in Western Maryland

Hi everyone. Well... this weekend was one of those crazy ones you look back on and ask yourself where it went. We had a really busy, productive, & fun weekend in western Maryland. This morning we were fortunate enough to go (with my daughter, sister in law, nephew, and his friend) to one of my favorite places anywhere. Dan's Mountain. Probably one of the most scenic and definitely one of the best views in all of Maryland.

Dan's Rock (this location) is at an elevation of 2895 ft. All of my friends from the western US can laugh at that since they have "real" mountains out there. But trust me - standing on Dan's Rock - and looking down; you feel like you're 10,000 feet up! For geography nerds like me; Dan's Mountain is the leading or eastern edge of the Allegany plateau. The view is eastward, however, when there is no foliage the westward view is decent. However there are power lines and towers that are part of the western view. There are also wind turbines on ridge tops to the west (something I understand but still just don't like). Dan's Rock is part of a large State Park (Dan's Mountain State Park) consisting of 482 acres of land. There are higher peaks in Garrett County Maryland but none that offer the view of Dan's Mountain.

I've visited this place since my college days. Sadly over the years it has gotten covered in graffiti (for the life of me I just don't get that!) and also tends to be littered with much broken glass, refuse, etc. from disrespectful visitors. In recent years steps and viewing platforms have been put in place, however, you can still kind of "freelance" on your own. Years ago you literally had to climb a very steep area and avoid falling into several crevices to reach the scenic peak.

Today was a calm spring day there - one of the nicer days I've visited. I have been up there during all 4 seasons. To visit in winter, with snow, cold, and a very strong wind is the experience of a lifetime if you're a Marylander and wish to experience all the brutality of winter at once! Again my western US friends are laughing. But winter in Allegany or Garrett County Maryland is no joke! Meteorologically speaking there's not much difference than the Arctic at times:) At least it feels that way.

Dan's Rock has always been a spot I could go to alone to just sit and admire or to have a discussion with myself (not literally of course!). Or it can be a place to take someone who has never been to see the beauty of the area. This was the case today being able to take our nephew and his friend up for a visit. Hopefully they appreciated it as much as 14 year olds can! It's something I always enjoy. Anyone who is ever in the area of Frostburg, MD should make this a must see. It's only about 15 minutes off the interstate (I-68) but is definitely only accessible on a steep and curvy mountain road! I'm constantly surprised that this place is so unknown outside of the local area. It's quite a beautiful view no matter when you visit.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page