top of page

Piney Reservoir

Piney Reservoir is the municipal water supply for the City of Frostburg, Maryland. Frostburg is located in western Allegany County and sits at an average elevation of 2070'. Piney Reservoir is located in the western most Maryland County (Garrett) and sits approximately 8.5 miles northwest of the City and is close by the Town of Finzel. The reservoir is at an elevation of 2351'. The original dam was completed in 1935 and was known as Big Piney Run Dam. The dam was reconstructed in 1990 to enable additional water impoundment to increase the reservoir capacity. Currently the water surface area covers about 120 acres. The maximum depth is around 35'.

The reservoir is located in a very remote and scenic area. The lake itself, surrounding wetlands, woodlands, farmland, and mountain peaks make it a beautiful spot year round. The nice part about it is there are few people which (for me) is great when trying to take photographs. I recently visited the site while I was attending homecoming at nearby Frostburg State University. Prior to this I had not been here since the days when I was a student in the late 1980's. We used to love going up there (especially in the snow) and hanging out.

Piney is a great fishing spot as well. There are numerous species including largemouth bass, yellow perch, white crappies, bluegills, brown bullheads, and pumpkinseeds. Tiger Muskie are introduced as a means of controlling growth rates of many of the species present. The reservoir is also stocked with Rainbow Trout spring and fall for additional fishing opportunities. During extended cold weather spells in the winter season; ice fishing is even possible.

The photos I am sharing were taken on a day that started with beautiful clear blue skies and sun. Unfortunately - by the afternoon when I got here the skies had turned a very gray, solid overcast. I definitely have plans to return here after snowfall and again next Autumn when there is hopefully more color! Even on a gray day this place is still beautiful to me. I hope you enjoy a few of the shots I was able to capture!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page